Music Events, Original Content

SXSW: So Many Bands

SXSW has positioned itself as one of the Holy Grail’s of must-participate music events. To participate would mean the potential answer to any bands dreams. If it’s gonna happen, it’s gonna happen at SXSW after a that big label rep catches our set at some crazy bar packed with people going apeshit over tunes. That’s the dream.

I’ve never been to SXSW because I’ve never had the desire to go. I don’t discount it’s appeal to the public – from their vantage-point, it’s a lot of new music capped with big-name headliners in a small venue setting. That’s awesome. However, for me to have an interest in going, I’d need to have a horse in the race. With so much happening – the music, the business, the networking, the sponsors and the shear survival of it all – if my band isn’t the shit and nobody else is dropping our name or looking forward to our arrival – then why go? Some may seem this as a defeatists way of thinking, but thankfully I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Last week I read this article.

In all fairness, I booked a lot of bands at my club that were routing to and from SXSW. Each one had a great attitude about their expectations. Maybe I’ll go next year.

– Anthony

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

